ASEAN. Association of Southeast Asian Nations

Created on August 8, 1967, ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) emerged from an agreement between Singapore, Indonesia, Philippines, Malaysia and Thailand, to ensure the economic development and political stability of the region. Currently, ASEAN member countries are: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Singapore, Philippines, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Thailand and Vietnam.
The main objectives of this association are: to accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region and promote peace and stability through respect and justice among member countries.
ASEAN member countries adopted during the 1976 conference the Treaty of Friendship and Cooperation, which presents the following fundamental principles: mutual respect for independence, sovereignty, equality, territorial integrity, identity national; the right of each state to conduct its national existence free from outside interference; non-interference in the internal affairs of another country; the renunciation of threat or use of force; effective cooperation with each other.

Do not stop now... There's more after the advertising ;)

ASEAN member countries

Some agreements were established between the member countries of ASEAN, in 1992 the free trade zone was created, being gradually implemented until 2008. Other projects are being created with the aim of facilitating the movement of business people, strengthening ASEAN institutions and accelerating integration regional in priority sectors (air travel, electronics, fisheries, health, rubber-based products, textiles and apparel, tourism and goods. wood).
The Association of Southeast Asian Nations seeks economic integration among member countries, intending to achieve economic development with equity and reduction of poverty and inequality socioeconomic factors by 2020.

By Wagner de Cerqueira and Francisco
Graduated in Geography
Brazil School Team

Economic blocks - geography - Brazil School

Would you like to reference this text in a school or academic work? Look:

FRANCISCO, Wagner de Cerqueira e. "ASEAN"; Brazil School. Available in: Accessed on June 28, 2021.
Trans-Pacific Association Agreement (TPP)

Trans-Pacific Association Agreement (TPP)

O Trans-Pacific Association Agreement (TPP) established free trade between twelve countries in As...

read more

World Bank. World Bank or World Bank

The International Bank for Reconstruction and Development - BIRD, also called the World Bank, is ...

read more

Classification of economic blocks. Types of economic blocks

One of the most prominent aspects of the globalized world and the current world order is the form...

read more
instagram viewer